Wednesday, July 19, 2017

13 deserving Calgarians receive recognition at the 2016 Calgary Awards

On June 28, The City of Calgary presented 13 awards to recipients at the 2016 Calgary Awards. Mayor Nenshi and members of City Council were in attendance to recognize the many deserving recipients at the ceremony.

The Calgary Awards showcase The City’s priorities of community, the environment, accessibility, and arts and culture.

Highlights from this year’s awards include the Community Advocate Award presented to Cheri Macaulay, and The Citizen of Year award to Dr. Lucy Miller for her outstanding contributions to the community. The Signature Award, recognizing an individual who has brought significant recognition to the city, was awarded to Robert Brawn.

Citizen of the Year Award : Mayor Nenshi, Dr. Lucy Miller
Each year, individuals, corporations, community groups and organizations are nominated in five major award categories. It is one of the largest citizen recognition programs in the city.

“It was such an honour to present this year’s Calgary Awards to some of the very best people and organizations in this great city. The leadership and commitment to community shown by the recipients is an inspiration for me and many, many people,” said Mayor Nenshi following the ceremony. “They make Calgary better every day, and I'm proud to call them fellow citizens.”

Grant MacEwan Lifetime Achievement Award:
Mayor Nenshi, Dr. Babins- Wagner and Grant MacEwan’s
granddaughters Lynwyn Foran-Aebli and Fiona Foran
The City thanks the following sponsors for their continued support of The Calgary Awards: Oil City Press, The University of Calgary, Husky Energy and Shaw TV.

All Calgarians are encouraged to look to their neighbours, colleagues, community leaders and local organizations and businesses for those who could qualify as recipients of the Calgary Awards.

Nominations for the 2017 Calgary Awards will launch in January 2018. Visit for more information.

No comments:

Post a Comment